image

So this statement pretty much sums me up today…well most days really. This is my life. I was happy when work was over but sad for the events that transpired after that. I feel like I went to go say goodbye maybe for the last time to a special person. One who’s cancer is taking their life way to early. In this case you do have a chance to say your goodbyes. I did have a few times where death was unexpected and sudden… One day they were here and the next they were just gone.

The most important things are the hardest to say…

I find that the following statement has so much truth in it that the most important things are the hardest to say. When that happens I find that taking my time to get it out any way possible works the best for things left unsaid tend to eat away at you. The “what ifs” come at you over and over accusing you for all the unknown roads that you could have traveled. I have so many… it makes me remember the classic poem by Robert Frost…the Road not Taken. I wanted to share the poem with you just in case you forgot the elegant prose it contains.

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;        

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,        

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.        

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Frost shows me how he understands that we have to pick one path. He goes as far to say he is sorry that he cannot travel down both paths. I envision him picking the path less traveled as he describes it as “grassy and wanted wear”. He even notes that even though both had worn down about the same that he did in fact the the one less traveled at the end of the poem… stating that it “made all the difference!” I feel this way about the paths I chose to walk in my own life. I certainly have not picked the usual ones but have enjoyed the journey along the way. Knowing that path leads to the next two choices of pathways to take and I will never come back this way again…

image

Something jumped out at me from this photo with this certain quote on it. I have lived my life sometimes very recklessly at times and other times I have spent hours, days, and even months trying to distance myself from people in general. I feel like this blog is an outlet that let’s me choose how I wish to share the details of past or sometimes current events from my life with you…to participate in such a way with you.

Since I am sharing poetry with you tonight I will go ahead and share my favorite poem. I don’t have words to share what it means to me but hoping you will understand just from the reading of it…as with a beautiful song that touches your heart deeply by the hearing of it. I found two that I am fond of so here they are without further introduction.

image

Another poem by Frost…

image

As with everything in life this blog post too must end… so until next time see you on the flip side.

Leave a Reply

