#Peace within

God knew who I would become before my parents even thought of having me. God formed me in the womb. He choose me as a child of God before I was born. What a marvelous awe inspiring concept.

Jeremiah 1:5

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”

Ecclesiastes 11:5

As you do not know the path of the wind, or how the body is formed in a mother’s womb, so you cannot understand the work of God, the Maker of all things.
So on this journey sometimes I have not really loved myself as the person who was specially formed and created by God as one of His own. It has been when I was running away and trying to do life my way. It left me empty, sad, lost, lonely, depressed, and so much more. I had to realize that the old me didn’t realize the sacrifice that Jesus made for me personally. If I had been the only lost sheep He still would have come down to this earth and died on the cross. FOR ME! How could I not love, trust, have faith, and care about one who went through so much so I could be forgiven for all of my sins (1 John 1:9) and become a child of God through His sacrifice? When I do not love all of my which includes my overweight body how does that show faith in God’s plan? Well it doesn’t really show trust or faith in His promises in the Bible.
Image
I don’t have to understand every thing God does but His peace which surpasses all understanding will guard my heart and my mind. When I struggle to be at #peace with my body or the storm raging around me I need to pray. I need to lean on bible promises like the one below which is a FAVORITE #bibleverse of mine…
Though the mountains be shaken
and the hills be removed,
yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken
nor my covenant of peace be removed,”
says the Lord, who has compassion on you.
Isaiah 54:10
One person who might have had a problem with events that happened to him was Joseph. So many things happened to him and most of them were bad. 10 brothers who were jealous of his status as favorite son. Dreams that he told that made not only the jealous siblings more jealous but even his father thought something might be wrong with him. Mother who died giving birth to his little brother. Then when told to go check on the 10 jealous brothers by his father the same family members sell him to a traveling caravan. Drugged to Egypt and sold as a slave to Potiphar. Put over Potiphar’s whole house hold… Assaulted by Potiphar’s wife..then put in prison. Made overseer of the prison. Two prisoners come in and have dreams which are explained by Joseph (with God’s help). One is put to death in 3 days…just like the dream. One is brought back to his position but does he remember Joseph like he said he would? Um no not at all… Joseph stays in jail for another TWO YEARS. Then Pharaoh has dreams that no one can interpret for him. Then the ex-prisoner remembers Joseph. Pharaoh send for Joseph. Joseph tells Pharaoh what the dreams mean by telling him first it is not Joseph but God who will explain to Pharaoh what the dreams are about. Then Joseph goes ahead and tells Pharaoh that he should setup someone to make sure Egypt makes it through the years of famine.

His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature, having escaped the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.

For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, mutual affection; and to mutual affection, love. For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But whoever does not have them is nearsighted and blind, forgetting that they have been cleansed from their past sins.

Therefore, my brothers and sisters, make every effort to confirm your calling and election. For if you do these things, you will never stumble,

2 Peter 1:3-10

Image
I have read this story so many times… what I keep seeing that astounds me. No complaining from Joseph at all is mentioned. Joseph had serious FAITH in God. I also kept seeing the phrase, “the LORD was with Joseph”. What if I consciously kept saying that phrase to myself… when bad things happen or good ones… “the LORD was with Carolyn”. What a difference that would make in my life and my struggles. All of my stress, my weight issues, my anger problem, family drama, and so much more would benefit from repeating that phrase. It would also fit the phrase I picked to work on from 2 Peter 1:3-10… PERSEVERANCE. I want to work on the ability to follow through with the issues I need to deal with and work on… I need perseverance to continue on with the journey and not give up so easily. (Which I happen to do quite easily most of the time). You see it is easy to keep saying yes to things but the Imagefollow up and finishing the project is where I am lacking. Like loosing weight for instance because I have done it before. I lost 25 pounds easy. Why can’t I do that now? I lack motivation to start what I need to do and I lack perseverance to finish the race. Our Bible study tonight was very motivational for me. One of the activities was to write a new plan for action of a way to get up and move… I shared my plan with you on the left as you can see… We were also then to right our name in the verse to make it personal. It sounds true to me that my flesh and heart may fail me and truth be told they have a few times before…BUT the good news (the hope you might say) is that GOD is the strength I need to keep going. Isn’t that the truth for us all? If we have faith in God’s promises (like the one I personalized) then we have the hope and peace that comes from putting all of our mistakes, failures, and problems in God’s hands. We can truly, “Let go, and Let God“.
Image
I will call upon your name…
and keep my eyes above the waves
when oceans rise
my soul will rest
in your embrace
for I am yours
and you are mine.
your grace abounds
in deepest waters
your sovereign hand
will be my guide
where feet may fail
and fear surrounds me
you’ve never failed
and you won’t start now…
Words from the song Oceans (Where feet may fail) by Hillsong United that I shared at the first of this blog.
This song gives me #peace within.
May I continue to say, “the LORD was with Carolyn” all the days of my life…
2 thoughts on “#Peace within

  1. Loved your blog today, Linaelini!! You are REALLY digging into God’s Word and defending yourself against the enemy’s lies!!
    I, too, love the Joseph’s story and how he allowed himself to be used by God, never complaining, always obedient. “The LORD was with Joseph” (Genesis 39:2, 39:3, 39:21) and because of his obedience, he was able to save his family during the famine. My favorite part of Joseph’s story is the restoration of his family — he could have been angry at his brothers for what they did, but he forgave them!! ❤ ❤ ❤
    Thank you for sharing with us today!!
    In His love,
    Pat (OBS Blog Team)

Leave a Reply

