Sweet Place of Breakthrough

1-peter-5-7I had some symptoms back in 2012 that had actually been happening for a few years before that… I rationalized it as thought my allergies were acting up and sometimes that maybe I was sick to my stomach. Finally I decided that something was wrong that I needed to go to the doctor to get checked out. I ended up going to a GI doctor and had an endoscopy done. Discovered the cause of my problems was a hiatal hernia, GERD, and a very bad case of Acid Reflux. The doctor told me that it was getting worse because of how much I weighed. SO back then my first plan was to stop drinking cokes, then I cut out fried foods period, and lastly I started by working out (just moving along the best I could with a Zumba game I have on my Xbox 360 to walking on my apartment’s treadmill in their little gym) for 20 min every day except on Sabbath (Saturday my day of rest and worship). It really worked for me. I lost 25 pounds that time and got down to 160 pounds.

I wish I could say that I won that achievement and kept the pounds off… I have to say I didn’t. I now weight the most I ever have in my life. I think that if I can just get the motivation again like I had that I could get back under 200 pounds easy. If you see my motivation anywhere will you return it to me? I somehow lost it along the way and I really could use to have it back sometime soon. I do know that since I had this “personal victory” with loosing weight in the past I have faith in God and myself that I can do it again! One of the things we were asked to do in my online Bible study this week was make a list of excuses that we use to eat what we want… so I figured I would share some of them with you. (See below for my list)…

I have been doing good all week so I deserve to eat out this time.
I am so tired that I deserve to grab something quick to eat so I don’t have to cook.
I can really start eating better again tomorrow.

These really are just a few of the many ways I can rationalize the need to eat whatever it is that I have in front of me…
imageI have to say that I really love the verse of the week… 1 Peter 5:7-8 ~ Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. ~

image

Anxiety 1. a feeling of worry, nervousness, or unease, typically about an imminent event of something with an uncertain outcome. (Synonyms: concern, apprehension, fear, angst, tension) I feel all of these feeling quite often and now that I have started this Bible study I have started to ask myself why??? I should as this very verse suggests “cast ALL my anxiety on him (Jesus)… why not only because the Bible tells me so but because when I tend to talk about things it is like I let out all the worry nervousness, concern, apprehension, angst, and tension I feel inside by talking about it. This verse alone tells me why I should pray about such things because Jesus himself CARES FOR ME!!! Plus unlike friends (now don’t get your feelings hurt my friends out there who maybe reading this) Jesus is never in the middle of something and needs to call me back later… or is too busy for me or would have to fit me into his schedule. SO why do I end up having to try and fit him into my busy schedule? Just some of the things that this bible study has me pondering recently… when I remember to pray more and read my Bible more it’s like receiving this:

tumblr_lmck2mk1bb1ql2j2ao1_500

So what I have learned now from week two is that the key to being #Empowered is to read the Bible, memorize scripture, and spend time in prayer. This week I am learning to be #Determined to let go of the excuses and take one step at a time. To take even my struggles to Jesus in prayer, to lean on the good friends I have, and to say to my worries that my God is bigger than them and they should be worried about what He will do to them… and to remember the saying (while at work especially) that “If this is the WORST THING that happens to me today, it’s still a pretty good day.” (Thanks to Lysa TerKeurst for that motivational phrase!)

1_peter_5_7_by_blossomcloud-d5r58i8

Such a great memory verse!!!

Leave a Reply

